The William C. Wonders Map Collection Database  

Description

The William C. Wonders Map Collection Database is an electronic index to the pre-1995 maps in the William C. Wonders Map Collection. Begun as an electronic version of the catalogue records in 26 historical handwritten binders located in the William C. Wonders Map Collection on the fourth floor of Cameron Library, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, it continues to be augmented by recently acquired and processed pre-1995 maps.

Atlases, gazetteers and other cartographic reference materials are catalogued in The NEOS Libraries' Catalogue. Post-1994 monographic maps and new series in print or electronic format are catalogued in The NEOS Libraries' Catalogue. Some pre-1995 maps may also appear in the NEOS Libraries' Catalogue.

The airphoto collection of over one million items is not included in this database.

Additional Information

Although keyword searching can be limited to specific fields (title, subject), it is recommended that searching by topic, personal name or corporate name be limited to Keyword for best results, as there are few authors represented in this database (except in the "Notes" portion of the record), and subject headings are based on very broad subject classifications (Alberta--Physical sciences; Canada--Agriculture) rather than the conventional Library of Congress subject headings.

Because most of this database has been copied from a historical handwritten catalogue, there may be some variation in uniformity of terminology, language or place name usage. For example, when looking for a map of Prince Edward Island, a good search strategy might be to look under prince edward island or pei; for a map of London, Ontario, search under london ontario or london ont; for a map of Venice, search under venice or venezia.

For assistance please contact:

Science and Technology Library Service Desk, Cameron Library
780-492-8440

Chat with Us

We are available to chat online during Chat Hours.